Hasso-Plattner-Institut
  
 

Knowledge Engineering in Social Media

Social Media provide a giant pool with personal opinions and profiles, blogs, discussion forums, communities and networks which is continuously growing with exponential speed by new posts, blogs, messages, information and opinions. For human users it is completely impossible, to follow and capture this. Even when they aer merely interested to capture specific sectors of the world of social media, without computer-technical support they are lost.  

The team of Prof. Dr. Christoph Meinel investigates social media under the aspect of knowledge management. Research is focused on the challenge to generate new knowledge from the big data that are provided in the Internet by soical media. We investigate how computers can used to efficiently collect, consolidaten, and analyse all these information and data in order to generate new beneficial knowledge. Our research is quickend by the chance to have access to most recent computer systems with many cores and large main memory in the HPI Future SOC Lab

Ongoing Research Projects

  • Blog-Intelligence - a powerful tool for captering, analysing and visualizing content, structure, and social dynamics of the blogoshere, the world of blogs.
  • Collaborative Web - various case studies around the famous IT-Gipfelblog which was established and is powered by the chair to provide a national German discussion platform for issues concerning development and use of information technologies. 
  • Collaborative Tagging and Folksonomies - research about the role of folksomomies and collaborative tagging for web information retreaval.

Former Research Projects

Other Links

... to our Research
              Security Engineering - Learning & Knowledge Tech - Design Thinking - former
... to our Teaching
              Tele-Lectures - MOOCs - Labs - Systems 
... to our Publications
              Books - Journals - Conference-Papers - Patents
... and to our Annual Reports.

Hasso-Plattner-Institut
  
 

Knowledge Engineering in sozialen Medien

Soziale Medien bieten einen riesigen Pool an persönlichen Meinungen und Profilen, Blogs, Diskussionsforen, Communities und Netzwerken, der sich fortlaufend und exponentiell anwachsend um neue Posts, Blogeinträge, Nachrichten, Informationen und Meinungen erweitert. Für den einzelnen ist es längst nicht mehr möglich, das alles auch nur im Ansatz zu erfassen. Selbst wenn es nur um Ausschnitte aus dieser Welt der sozialen Medien geht, ist es unmöglich, ohne technische Unterstützung einen Überblick zu behalten. 

Der Lehrstuhl von Prof. Dr. Christoph Meinel befasst sich mit sozialen Medien unter dem Gesichtspunkt des Knowledge Management. Im Fokus der Forschungen steht dabei die Frage, wie aus den in den sozialen Medien im Internet massenhaft zur Verfügung stehenden digitalen Daten, "Big Data", mit Unterstützung durch leistungsfähige Rechner neues Wissen generiert werden kann. Wir erforschen, wie sich die vielfältigen Daten und Informationen effizient sammeln,  zusammenführen und auswerten lassen, um nützliches neues Wissen zu erzeugen. Unsere Forschungen werden beflügelt durch die Möglichkeit, über das HPI Future SOC Lab auf ganz aktuelle Rechnersysteme mit zig Kernen und riesigem  Hauptspeicher zurückgreifen zu können. 

Laufende Forschungsprojekte

  • Blog-Intelligence - ein Werkzeug zur Erfassung, Analyse und visuellen Aufbereitung der inhaltlichen Struktur und sozialen Dynamik der Blogosphäre, der Welt der Blogs.
  • Collaborative Web - verschiedene Fallstudien rund um den IT-Gipfelblog, eine vom Lehrstuhl etablierte und betriebene Blog-Plattform zur Diskussion der nationalen Rahmenbedingungen für die Entwicklung und den Einsatz der Informationstechnologien.
  • Collaboratives Taggen und Folksonomien - Forschungen zur Rolle von Folksonomien und kollaborativem Taggen im Bereich des Web-Information-Retrieval.

Unsere Blogs

Frühere Forschungsprojekte

Weitere Links

... zu unseren Forschungen:
       Security Engineering - Learning & Knowledge Tech - Design Thinkingfrüher
... zu unserer Lehre:
       Tele-Lectures - MOOCsLaboreSysteme
... zu unseren Publikationen
        Bücher - Journale - Conference-Papers - Patente
... und zu unseren Jahresberichten.