Hasso-Plattner-Institut
  
 

Seed Investments via the HPI Seed Fund

Startups from the HPI environment have the opportunity to obtain initial funding in an uncomplicated manner during the startup phase in order to reach important milestones on the way to a further round of financing.

The investment comes from the HPI Seed Fund GmbH, which is also based in E-Space. We intensively support the portfolio companies, including the Problem/Solution-Fit and the Product/Market-Fit phase as well as in the preparation of further financing measures. The goal is to get you ready for a follow-on investment within 6-12 months.

Investment Criteria

  • You are working on an innovative technology-based business idea
  • Your founding team includes at least one team member with HPI background (e.g. ITSE Bachelor / Master Student, HPI Alumni, D-School Alumni)
  • You have or will establish at least half a GmbH (12.500 EUR)

The HPI Seed Fund invests in your startup in the form of a subscription rights agreement. This means that you will receive the financial resources after signing the agreement. In return, the Seed Fund receives the right to exercise its subscription right later (usually in the next financing round) and thereby receive shares in your company.

We already support you during the application process for the HPI Seed Fund to pass Quality Gate 1 before your pitch in front of the HPI Seed Fund Investment Committee.

HPI Seed Fund Process

Depending on the progress of your startup, we expect not only a convincing pitch deck for the application to the HPI Seed Fund, but also first internal reportings. It is particularly important for us to understand to what extent the core hypotheses of the business idea have already been validated and what the associated validation results look like.

For further details you can always contact us: eschool(at)hpi.de

Current HPI Seed Fund investments

Former HPI Seed Fund investments

Hasso-Plattner-Institut
  
 

Investments durch den HPI Seed Fund

Für Startups aus dem Umfeld des HPI besteht die Möglichkeit in der Gründungsphase unkompliziert erste finanzielle Mittel zu erhalten, um wichtige Meilensteine auf dem Weg zu einer weiteren Finanzierungsrunde zu erreichen.

Das Investment erfolgt durch die HPI Seed Fund GmbH, die ihren Sitz ebenfalls im E-Space hat. Die Portfolio-Unternehmen werden intensiv unterstützt, u.a. während der Problem/Solution-Fit und dem Product/Market-Fit Phase sowie bei der Vorbereitung weiterer Finanzierungsmaßnahmen. Ziel ist es, euch innerhalb von 6-12 Monaten für ein Follow-on Investment vorzubereiten.

Investment Kriterien

  • Ihr arbeitet an einer innovativen technologie-basierten Geschäftsidee.
  • In eurem Gründer:innen-Team befindet sich mindestens ein Teammitglied mit HPI-Hintergrund (z.B. BA, MA oder PhD Student:in, D-School Student:in, HPI oder D-School Alumni)
  • Ihr habt bereits ein GmbH gegründet oder habt dies zeitnah vor

Der HPI Seed Fund investiert in der Regel in Form einer Bezugsrechtevereinbarung in euer Startup. Das bedeutet, dass ihr nach Unterzeichnung der Vereinbarung die finanziellen Mittel erhaltet. Der Seed Fund erhält dafür das Recht, später (meist im Rahmen der nächsten Finanzierungsrunde) sein Bezugsrechts auszuüben und hierdurch Geschäftsanteile an Eurem Unternehmen zu erhalten. 

Wir unterstützen euch gern im Bewerbungsprozess für den HPI Seed Fund im Rahmen des Quality Gates 1 bevor ihr vor dem HPI Seed Fund Investment Committee pitcht.

HPI Seed Fund Prozess

Für die Bewerbung beim HPI Seed Fund erwarten wir je nach Fortschritt des Gründungsvorhabens neben einem überzeugenden Pitch Deck auch bereits erste interne Reportings. Hierbei ist es uns besonders wichtig zu verstehen, inwiefern die Kernhypothesen der Geschäftsidee bereits validiert wurden, und wie die zugehörigen Validierungsergebnisse aussehen.

Für die weiteren Details könnt ihr uns gerne jederzeit ansprechen: eschool(at)hpi.de

Aktuelle HPI Seed Fund Beteiligungen

Ehemalige HPI Seed Fund Beteiligungen