Secure Identity Lab

Overview

In cooperation with Bundesdruckerei we are working on user-oriented identities in the Secure Identity Lab. Our work covers two aspects:

  1. Authentification of Digital Identities
  2. Architectures for Self-Sovereign Identities

Authentification of Digital Identities

To authenticate digital identities username and password is still the dominant procedure. Other approaches like fingerprint, face recognition or smartcards are very rarely used for web authentication and require additional hardware most of the time.

We use smartphones, wearables and further devices for implicit continuous authentification. These devices are equipped with many sensors that can sample a user's behavior. This behaviour-based authentication can be deployed to continuously verify the current owner's identity. Because of that, any attacker can be detected immediately if the detected behaviour is different to the enrolled templates of the benign user. As a result, a phone may be locked, the user gets logged out from the websites or a silent alarm is sent somewhere. Apart from the human walking behaviour (gait), typing on hardware keyboards or touch screens are typical behaviours considered for behavioral authentication.

In our research, we specifically focus on data privacy. One of our main principles is thus to keep all biometric data on the devices itself.

Architectures for Self-Sovereign Identities

The current identity landscape is dominated by identity providers such as Facebook and Google and as alternative to these Single-Sign On providers the silo approach where each service provider creates their own digital identity for its users. These solutions all remain fairly service- or identity provider-centric and give up the user's control over their data to the providers. In contrast to this a Self-Sovereign Identitysystem on the other hand allows the user a greater degree of choice and the possibility to manage their data in form of claims and attestations on their own. Using Blockchain technology identities can be created securely and in a decentralised fassion while the identity attributes can be reliably verified.

Challenges in this area include aspects of trust between different stakeholders in the system as well as questions of privacy in the use of public blockchains. Especially the usability of such a system however is essential to ensure adoption in the general public.

Team

  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Meinel
  • Christian Tietz
  • Eric Klieme
  • Alexander Mühle
  • Hendrik Graupner

Secure Identity Lab

Überblick

Zusammen mit der Bundesdruckerei arbeiten wir im Rahmen des Secure Identity Labs an benutzerorientierten Identitäten. Unsere Arbeit umfasst dabei zwei Aspekte: Authentifizierung von Identitäten und Architekturen für die sogenannten Self-Souvereign Identitäten.

Um digitale Identitäten zu authentifizieren ist Username/Password noch immer das dominante Verfahren. Andere bekannte Verfahren wie Fingerabdruck, Gesichtserkennung, Smartcard finden im Internet nur selten Anwendung und erfordern zusätzliche Hardware.
Wir verwenden Smartphones, Wearables und andere Geräte zur impliziten kontinuierlichen Authentifizierung. Diese Geräte kommen mit allerhand Sensoren mit denen das Verhalten des Benutzers erkannt werden kann. Diese verhaltensbasierte Authentifizierung erlaubt es den Besitzer automatisch zu erkennen. Dadurch können diese Geräte den Computer / Arbeitsplatz sperren, wenn das Verhalten vom bekannten Muster abweicht – bzw. entsperren, wenn das Verhalten wieder dem Muster entspricht. Das bekannteste und am besten erforschte Merkmal für Verhalten ist das Laufen. Daneben gibt es aber auch weitere Merkmale wie bspw. das Tippverhalten auf normalen PC- oder Smartphone-Tastaturen.
Unser besonderer Schwerpunkt bei der Forschung liegt auf höchstmöglichem Datenschutz bei allen Verfahren, da die dafür notwendigen Daten sehr sensible sind.

Die momentane Identitätslandschaft im Internet wird dominiert von wenigen großen Identitätsanbietern wie Facebook oder Google. Alternativ zu diesen Single-Sign-On-Anbietern bleibt die Möglichkeit für jeden einzelnen Service eine neue digitale Identität zu erstellen. Dabei bleibt das aktuelle Verfahren Service-zentriert und überlässt die Datenhoheit den Serviceanbiertern. In einem Self-Souvereign Identitätssystem dagegen haben Nutzer die Hoheit über ihre Daten und verwalten diese in Form von Behauptungen und Attestierungen selber. Mit Hilfe der Blockchain können Identitäten sicher in einer dezentralen Weise erstellt und Identitätsdaten zuverlässig verifiziert und verwaltet werden.
Herausforderungen dabei sind klassische Blockchain-Probleme wie Skalierbarkeit oder Wahrung der Privatsphäre bei der Benutzung öffentlicher Blockchains.

Team

  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Meinel
  • Christian Tietz
  • Tatiana Gayvoronskaya
  • Eric Klieme
  • Alexander Mühle
  • Hendrik Graupner