Prof. Dr. Tobias Friedrich

Oct 2018: President's prize for best thesis

Maximilian Katzmann was awarded this-years President's prize for best thesis (Examenspreis des Präsidenten) of the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science of the Friedrich Schiller University Jena for his master's thesis on Hyperbolic Embeddings for Near-Optimal Greedy Routing.

Photo credit: D. Dallendörfer

Sep 2018: New PhD students receive perfect score

The former HPI Master students Philipp Fischbeck, Stefan Neubert, and Christopher Weyand joined the AE group as PhD students. All three graduated at the top of their class with a perfect grade average of 1.0.

Photo credit: HPI/K. Herschelmann

Jul 2018: AE-Team runner-up in HPI volleyball tourney

The AE-Team, Thomas Bläsius, Tobias Friedrich, Philipp Fischbeck, Andreas Göbel, and Maximilian Katzmann, become the runner-up of the traditional volleyball tournament of the 2018 HPI Summer Party.

Photo credit: HPI/K. Herschelmann

Jul 2018: Best paper award at SAT

Tobias Friedrich and Ralf Rothenberger receive the 2018 best paper award of the International Conference on Theory and Applications of Satisfiability Testing (SAT) for their work on the Sharpness of the Satisfiability Threshold for Non-Uniform Random k-SAT.

Photo credit: SAT 2018

May 2018: Bachelor project picture

Also in May, our current bachelor project gets their picture taken.

Photo credit: HPI/K. Herschelmann

May 2018: Annual group picture

Every spring, we take a new group picture including the researchers and students of the chair.

Photo credit: HPI/K. Herschelmann