Hasso-Plattner-Institut
  
 

Community Building Workshop Spring 2021

26th Community Building Workshop of the Design Thinking Research Program

Twice a year, researchers from the HPI-Stanford Design Thinking Research Program meet formally to present project updates and gain inspiration for further successful work. Now, for the third time in the program's 13-year history, the exchange between researchers from California and Potsdam took place in a purely virtual format from March 15-17, 2021. By now, researchers are used to Zoom exchanges.  In several parallel workshop sessions, subgroups worked around the issues of the 15 currently funded projects, after which all the results produced were presented in plenary sessions.

Indeed, some researchers scientifically examining the change to the Zoom world. Particularly topical were "Differences and Impact of Virtual versus In-Person Interactions" by Allan Reiss' Stanford team and "User-Centered Digital Communication and Behavior in Fragile Situations" by the Potsdam Design Thinking at Scale team, which has been researching the effective delivery of design thinking in online formats for several years. The possibilities of collaboration in virtual space were also problematized by Falk Uebernickel's design team "Human-Centered Digital Innovation - Strategies, Routines and Metrics for Managing Human-Centered Digital Innovation in Digital Innovation Units".  The presentations offered exciting conclusions and numerous points of departure for other teams. 

The plenary session also featured two guest speakers.  On the second day, Deborah Denenberg, Hark Communication, offered a presentation, which drew upon the spirit of her widely iterated and adapted "Designing Effective Communication and Smarter Storytelling" framework. She emphasized, "conflict creates story."  On the final day of the workshop, Mana Taheri presented the results of her dissertation, "Impact of Sociocultural Context on Design Thinking Education," which she will submit in April 2021.  The audience transitioned into a lively discussion about the relationship between culture and design thinking.

Professor Christoph Meinel and Professor Larry Leifer, co-directors of the program, emphasized the importance of investing in new forms of community building in the current climate. In this spirit, participants also spent common breaks between sessions with each other in plenary sessions and breakout rooms.  At the end of the review session, there was also space for informal exchange and a continuation of thoughts initiated in the workshops. In this respect, the community building was successful.  Moreover, in light of the current situation, additional virtual community building events were planned in the past months for HPI researchers and for the larger community; this will be continued in the spring and summer of 2021.

Hasso-Plattner-Institut
  
 

Community Building Workshop Spring 2021

26. Community Building Workshop des Design Thinking Research Programms

Zweimal im Jahr treffen sich die Forschenden des HPI-Stanford Design Thinking Research Programms formell, um Neuigkeiten aus ihren Projekten zu präsentieren und Impulse für die weitere erfolgreiche Arbeit zu geben. Zum dritten Mal in der 13-jährigen Geschichte des Programms fand der Austausch zwischen den Wissenschaftlern aus Kalifornien und Potsdam nun vom 15.-17. März 2021 in einem rein virtuellen Format statt. Mittlerweile sind die Forschenden schon an den Zoom-Austausch gewöhnt. In mehreren parallelen Workshop-Sessions arbeiteten Teilgruppen an den Fragestellungen der aktuell 15 geförderten Projekte. Im Anschluss stellten sie alle erarbeiteten Ergebnisse im Plenum vor.

Tatsächlich beschäftigen sich einige Forschende mit dem Wechsel in die virtuelle Welt. Besondere Aktualität hatte das Projekt „Differences and Impact of Virtual versus In-Person Interactions“ des Stanford Teams von Allan Reiss sowie „User-Centered Digital Communication and Behavior in Fragile Situations“ des Potsdamer Design Thinking at Scale Teams, das seit mehreren Jahren zur wirksamen Vermittlung von Design Thinking in Online-Formaten forscht. Die Möglichkeiten der Kollaboration im virtuellen Raum wurden auch von dem Design-Team von Falk Uebernickel „Human-Centered Digital Innovation - Strategies, Routines and Metrics for Managing Human-Centered Digital Innovation in Digital Innovation Units“ problematisiert. Die Präsentationen boten spannende Schlussfolgerungen und zahlreiche Anknüpfungspunkte für andere Teams. 

Darüber hinaus gab es im Plenum zwei Gastrednerinnen. Am zweiten Workshop-Tag bot Deborah Denenberg von Hark Communication einen kondensierten Impuls im Geiste ihres vielfach iterierten und adaptierten „Designing Effective Communication und Smarter Storytelling“-Frameworks. Sie betonte, „conflict creates story“. Am letzten Tag des Workshops stellte Mana Taheri die Ergebnisse ihrer Dissertation mit dem Titel "Impact of Sociocultural Context on Design Thinking Education" vor, die sie im April 2021 einreichen wird. Die Zuhörer*innen stiegen in eine rege Diskussion über Kultur und Design Thinking ein.

Professor Christoph Meinel und Professor Larry Leifer, Co-Direktoren des Programms, betonten, wie wichtig es in der aktuellen Situation ist in neue Formen des Community Building zu investieren. In diesem Sinne verbrachten die Teilnehmenden auch Pausen zwischen den Sessions miteinander, im Plenum und in Breakout-Rooms. Am Ende der Review-Session gab es noch Zeit für informellen Austausch und die Weiterführung, der in den Workshops angestoßenen Diskussionen und Gedanken. Das Community-Building war somit wieder eine Bereicherung für alle Teilnehmenden. Aufgrund der aktuellen Lage gab es in den vergangenen Monaten weitere virtuelle Community Building-Events für HPI-Forscher*innen und für die größere Community. Diese werden auch im Frühjahr und Sommer 2021 fortgesetzt.