MyPiggy – Digital Piggybank for kids

Project partner: Volksbanken Raiffeisenbanken

Challenge: “Design an financial planning experience for children that helps them to manage money responsibly“

 

MyPiggy student team

 

The project partner Volksbanken Raiffeisenbanken inititally posed a design challenge targeted towards young people aged 15-18. The bank was looking for ideas to support young people in financially planning their training and further education.

During the research phase in the Design Thinking process, the student team realized that there was a lack of interest in banking and financial issues among teenagers of this age group. Instead, several interviewees mentioned that their younger siblings might be interested in the prototype that the team had developed for the interviews.

Following the insight that financial education needs to start earlier in life, the student team decided to reformulate the challenge and to focus on children aged 6 to 10.

The student team developed a personalized Piggy Bank that is complemented by an app. Together the physical object of the piggy bank and the digital component constitute the Piggy World.

MyPiggy prototype

 

The Piggy Bank is a tangible object which helps children to get a feeling for money and for its translation into the digital world. It includes a coin count function and a digital display showing their savings inside the Piggy Bank as well as on their bank account. Once the child is old enough, it can download the Piggy Go App and add personal saving goals. The App is connected with a personalized web-shop where users can buy their desired objects after approval of their parents.

By making children in primary school age comfortable with digital money using a physical object that they can personally bond with, the Piggy World seeks to facilitate the transition between the cash money world and the currently growing online banking culture. The digital Piggy Bank is designed to become a financial companion for the growing generations which will accompany them into financial independence.

A Volksbanken Raiffeisenbanken startup is currently further developing myPiggy to the refined concept “myFamilyFinance”. Now, the closed beta phase is running.

Photo: HPI School of Design Thinking / Franz Grünewald

MyPiggy - Digitales Sparschwein für Kinder

Projektpartner: Volksbanken Raiffeisenbanken

Challenge: “Gestalte Finanzplanung als ein Erlebnis für Kinder, um ihnen dabei zu helfen, verantwortungsbewusst Geld zu sparen.“

 

MyPiggy Studierendenteam

 

Der Projektpartner Volksbanken Raiffeisenbanken kam zur HPI D-School mit einer Design Challenge, die ursprünglich auf Jugendliche im Alter von 15-18 Jahren ausgerichtet war. Die Bank suchte Ideen, um diese Zielgruppe bei der finanziellen Planung ihres Bildungsweges zu unterstützen.

In der Forschungsphase im Design Thinking-Prozess stellte das studentische Team jedoch fest, dass es bei der Zielgruppe ein relativ geringes Interesse an finanziellen Themen gab. Stattdessen kommentierten mehrere der interviewten Jugendlichen, dass ihre kleineren Geschwister eventuell Interesse an dem Prototyp haben könnten, den das studentische Team für die Interviews entwickelt hatte.

Nach dieser Erkenntnis entschieden sich die Studierenden dazu, sich bei der Ideenfindung auf Kinder im Alter von 6 bis 10 zu fokussieren.

Die Studierenden entwickelten ein personalisiertes Sparschwein, das durch eine App ergänzt wird. Zusammen bilden das physische Sparschwein und die digitale Komponente in Form einer App die Piggy World. Das Sparschwein ist ein greifbares Objekt, das den Kindern dabei hilft, ein Gefühl für Geld und dessen Übersetzung in die digitale Welt zu entwickeln. Es beinhaltet einen Münzzähler und einen digitalen Display, der sowohl die Ersparnisse im Sparschwein als auch den aktuellen Kontostand anzeigt.

Sobald das Kind alt genug ist, kann es sich zudem die Piggy Go App herunterladen und persönliche Sparziele hinzufügen. Die App ist mit einem personalisierten Online-Shop verknüpft, in dem sich die Nutzer*innen mit dem Einverständnis ihrer Eltern ihre Wunschobjekte kaufen können.

 

MyPiggy Prototyp

 

Indem Schulkinder anhand eines physischen Objekts mit digitalem Geld vertraut gemacht werden, soll die Piggy World den Übergang von einer bargeldbasierten Welt in die wachsende Kultur des Online-Banking erleichtern. Das digitale Sparschwein wurde als ein finanzieller Begleiter für die heranwachsende Generation entwickelt, der sie auf dem Weg in die finanzielle Unabhängigkeit unterstützt.

Aktuell wird myPiggy im weiterentwickelten Konzept „myFamilyFinance“ durch ein Startup aus dem Kreise der Volksbanken Raiffeisenbanken weiterentwickelt. Derzeit läuft die geschlossene Beta-Phase.

Foto: HPI School of Design Thinking / Franz Grünewald