University of Cape Town

There are currently eight postgraduates from different African countries working at UCT. The so-called HPI-CS4A Center (Computer Science for Africa) aims to become a leading centre of excellence in designing computational solutions (both algorithmic and user centric) for the developing world’s context.

The HPI Research School @ UCT incorporates researchers from a variety of backgrounds such as anthropology, media studies, information systems and computer science. Together they work with local and internationally-based technology companies to address problems in the areas of TeleHealth, M-Education, Mobile Internet, and Mobile Tele-Commuting.


Sakpere Aderonke

  • Member since: 2013
  • Supervisor: Anne Kayem

Sinini Ncube

  • Member since: 2013
  • Supervisor: Gary Marsden

Haji Ali Haji

  • Member since: 2013
  • Supervisors: Hussein Suleman, Ulrike Rivett, (Gary Marsden)

Fiona Ssozi

  • Member since: 2014
  • Supervisors: Edwin Blake, Prof. Ulrike Rivett

Landry Pacome Ambassa

  • Member since: 2014
  • Supervisors: Anne Kayem, Prof. Christoph Meinel

Yamiko Joseph Msosa

  • Member since: 2014
  • Superviors: Audrey Mbogho, Maria Keet

Lighton Phiri

  • Member since: 2014
  • Supervisors: Hussein Suleman, Prof. Christoph Meinel

Josiah Chavula

  • Member since: 2014
  • Supervisors: A. Bagula, Hussein Suleman


Anne Kayem

Anne V.D.M. Kayem is a Senior Lecturer at the University of Cape Town, South Africa. Her research interests lie in the area of information security with a focus on access control, adaptive security, information flow control, and privacy.

Hussein Suleman

Edwin Blake



Prof. Ulrike Rivett



Maria Keet

Melissa Densmore


Christoph Chepken

  • Member from: 2010 - 2012

Silvian Gitau

  • Member from: 2009 - 2011

Muthoni Masinde

  • Member from: 2010 - 2012

Raymond Mugwanya

  • Member from: 2009 - 2012

Richie Ssembatya

  • Member from: 2011 - 2014
  • Supervisors: Dr. Anne Kayem, Gary Marsden

Grace Ssekakubo

  • Member from: 2011 - 2014
  • Supervisors: Gary Marsden, Hussein Suleman

Ntwa Katule

  • Member from: 2011 - 2014
  • Supervisor: Gary Marsden

Chao Mbogho

  • Member from: 2012 - 2014
  • Supervisors: Hussein Suleman, Edwin Blake

Mvurya Mgala

  • Member from: 2013 - 2015
  • Supervisors: Audrey Mbogho, Prof. Elijah I. Omwenga (School of Computing and Informatics, University of Nairobi)