Hasso-Plattner-Institut25 Jahre HPI
Hasso-Plattner-Institut25 Jahre HPI

HPI Fellows

Those whose contribution to the Hasso Plattner Institute has been of particular merit are named "HPI Fellows".

Dr. Wolfgang Maier HPI Fellow 2022

Dr. Wolfgang Maier

Dr. Wolfang Maier is Director of Hardware Development at the IBM R&D Lab in Böblingen and has maintained close ties with HPI for almost two decades. In the course of the prototypical porting of SAP HANA to the IBM POWER platform carried out at HPI in 2016/17, Maier was one of the central supporters at IBM Research & Development in Germany. During the 17th Symposium of the HPI Research Schools, Dr. Wolfgang Maier was appointed HPI Fellow on April 28, 2022.


Mei Li Fung HPI-Fellow 2022

Mei Lin Fung

Mei Lin Fung is chair and co-founder of the People-Centered Internet and deeple committed to sustainable digitalization. Together with HPI Director Professor Christoph Meinel, she has proposed measures for the G-20 summit to promote more sustainable digital technologies. In the context of the clean-IT Conference, Fung was appointed HPI Fellow on 30.03 2022.


Prof. Dennis S. Charney

Dennis S. Charney has been the Anne and Joel Honorary Wreath Dean of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai since 2007 and President for Academic Affairs of the Mount Sinai Health System in New York City, U.S.A. Within the framework of the HPI-Mount Sinai Digital Health Forum, Professor Dennis S. Charney was appointed HPI Fellow by HPI Director Professor Christoph Meinel on November 21, 2019.


Dieter Kempf

The president of the BDI Voice of German Industry was honored with the HPI Fellowship by Professor Christoph Meinel after his official speech at the Hasso Plattner Institute's graduation ceremony in 2018.

Gerhard Oswald

Gerhard Oswald was appointed Fellow of the Hasso Plattner Institute (HPI) by HPI Director Professor Christoph Meinel as part of the 13th Symposium on Future Trends in Service-Oriented Computing. The EX-SAP board member has been active in the HPI Board of Trustees for eight years and has further expanded the research relationships between HPI and SAP.


Günther Oettinger

After his visit to the Hasso Plattner Institute on 17 August 2015 the European Commissioner Günther Oettinger was awarded the HPI Fellowship by CEO Professor Christoph Meinel. In Brussels Oettinger is responsible for Digital Economy and Society. At HPI he held a keynote focusing on the Digital Transformation.

Matthias Platzeck

After his official speech at the Hasso Plattner Institute's graduation ceremony in 2013, Matthias Platzeck, former Prime Minister of the State of Brandenburg, was awarded the HPI Fellowship by Professor Christoph Meinel.

Neelie Kroes

The European Commissioneer for Digital Agenda, Neelie Kroes, was honored with the HPI Fellow award on December 1, 2011 during the 4th German IPv6 Summit. The Vice-President of the European Commission also delivered the keynote address to the Summit.

Dr. Alan C. Kay

The U.S. computer pioneer, Dr. Alan C. Kay, was honored with the HPI Fellow award on July 21, 2011. Therewith the HPI pays tribute to his commitment in the interactive access of knowledge for children and his achievements in the development of the Smalltalk programming language

Dr. Vinton G. Cerf

Vinton G. Cerf, who developed together with Robert E. Kahn the TCP/IP protocol was awarded as a HPI Fellow on May 25th 2011. The HPI award is a tribute to his work for a new medium which influenced the everyday life of our society like no other.

Prof. John L. Hennessy

The President of the Stanford University in Palo Alto was honoured on November 11th 2010 after his speech on "The Future of Computing: From Phones to Warehouses". Prof. John L. Hennessy had come to Germany on the occasion of Hasso Plattner's decoration with the Transatlantic Partnership Award.

Dr. Manfred Stolpe und Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka

During the HPI's 10th anniversary festivities on November 17, 2009 two people were awarded the title of HPI Fellow who have accompanied the institute's development over many years: Brandenburg's former premier, Dr. Manfred Stolpe, and Brandenburg's longstanding minister of science and research, Prof. Johanna Wanka.

Dr. Robert E. Kahn

The Internet pioneer Dr. Robert E. Kahn was nominated as HPI Fellow on May 14, 2009. Hasso Plattner and Prof. Christoph Meinel awarded him the medal of honor at the gala celebrating the 2nd National IT Summit, where the winners of the International IPv6 Application Contest also received their prizes.
Dr. Kahn is considered one of the "fathers" of the Internet. Together with Vint Cerf, he developed the Transmission Control Protocol (TCP).

Prof. Dr. Henning Kagermann

Prof. Kagermann, CEO of SAP SE and foundation board member of the Hasso Plattner Foundation for Software Systems Engineering, became a fellow on July 12, 2007 at a reception celebrating his 60th birthday in Berlin. He received the medal from HPI Director Prof. Christoph Meinel.
“The HPI appreciates your efforts in establishing and developing the Hasso-Plattner-Institute and its educational program in the field of IT-Systems Engineering. As CEO of an international corporation, you support the academic education of highly talented young IT specialists in a particularly strong and lasting way”, Meinel said. The HPI is also much obliged to Prof. Kagermann for his commitment to the foundation board.

Prof. Dr. Dr. hc. mult. August-Wilhelm Scheer

Prof. Scheer, founder and supervisory board chairman of IDS Scheer AG, received the decoration on March 23, 2007. “This is to acknowledge your merit as a close companion and advisor to our benefactor, Hasso Plattner”, Prof. Meinel said when awarding him the medal. He applauded Scheer’s great dedication to the foundation board of the Hasso Plattner Foundation for Software Systems Engineering.

Chancellor Dr. Angela Merkel

Following a discussion forum with HPI students and researchers on December 18, 2006, the German Chancellor was the very first to receive the title of “HPI Fellow”. In her podcast, she said that the HPI “offers top-level academic education”. Dr. Angela Merkel had come to the HPI on the occasion of the government‘s first National IT Summit with a total of 220 participants from the information and telecommunication industries, academia, and politics.